2022-2023 Scholar Athlete Celebration

On Thursday, March 16, 2023, the Athletics Department of Clayton County Public Schools (CCPS) honored the Class of 2023 Scholar-Athletes at a special ceremony and reception at the Performing Arts Center in Jonesboro.
Fifty (50) students were recognized for their academic capability, athletic accomplishments, and community involvement. This is the 15th year the school district has paid tribute to outstanding students who have succeeded in the classroom and their respective fields of play.
CCPS salutes these scholar-athletes, their families, and the network of coaches, teachers, and school officials who have collaborated to make their success a reality.


Clayton County Scholar Athlete Honorees:

Charles Drew

Oscar Andrade-Joya

Casey Frazier Pringle

Gabriel Chambers

Stephanie Rice

Kailynn Vazquez

Elite Scholars

Chelsea Henry

Ava Flanigan

Kevin Pham

Tyler Brown

Jaylen Grant

Forest Park

Rubi Arellanes Vargas

Elisha Wade

Jacari Hardaway

Jacob Feagin

Ian Velez


Mario Cabezas-Castro

Fabian Alcaraz

Kamya Taylor

Kyla Bass

Sonia Gonzalez-Garcia


George Dorton IV

La’Nya Foster

Me’Kel Hayes

Sydney Willis

Jazmine Botello


Edmoni Jackson

Jadon Harris

Simon Tran

Ana Rangel

Bridgette Clark

Mt. Zion

Dwight Cummings II

Nigel Bray

Teddy Bien-Aime

Xitlalizt Garcia-Carmona

Justis Simmonds

Mundy’s Mill

Anaya Baker

Shadrack Annor

Kennedi Gibson

Keianna West

Ryan Dixon

North Clayton

Anthony Swanson

Solinee Crawford

Desiree Dollar

Devyn Cuadra

Emmanuel Udom


Fenix McKinney

Hakeem Iginla

Kwan Hodge

Dayona Taylor

Lau’Ryn-Ashley Stephens