Clayton News Daily announces 2016-17 Clayton County All-County Basketball Team By Luke Strickland


JONESBORO — The 2016-2017 basketball season was a memorable one for local high school programs. Below is the All-County team as chosen by the staff of the Clayton News.


Player of the Year: Saadia Munford, Jonesboro


Coach of the Year: Cedric King, Lovejoy


First Team

Genesis Bryant, Lovejoy

The Lady Wildcats reached the Class AAAAAA Final Four due in large part to Bryant’s play. The freshman phenom averaged 12 points per game and led Lovejoy in scoring in all four state playoff games.

Dalania Clardy, North Clayton

Clardy was instrumental to North Clayton’s Region 4-AAAA championship team after battling through an early season injury. She averaged 15 points, eight rebounds and six assists per game as a senior.

Da’Ja Green, Morrow

Green finished her illustrious career in style. She averaged 17.8 points per game this season and eclipsed the 1,500-point mark for her career.

Jasmine Holcombe, North Clayton

Holcombe did a little bit of everything for the Lady Eagles this season. She averaged 10 points, 12 rebounds and five steals per game.

Raiana Johnson, Mundy’s Mill

Johnson dominated under the basket for the Lady Tigers. She averaged a double-double of 12 points and 13 rebounds per game.

Second Team

Monea Battle, North Clayton

Battle was a driving force for North Clayton’s Region 4-AAAA championship team. She averaged 11 points and 12 rebounds per game.

Alexus Celestin, Mundy’s Mill

Celestin’s energy was crucial to Mundy’s Mill’s success this season. She only averaged nine points, but pulled down seven rebounds, dished out three assists and came away with four steals per game in her senior year.

Darika Chelsey, Drew

Chelsey averaged 13.5 points per game for the Lady Titans this season.

Maiya Frazier, Jonesboro

Frazier emerged as a dependable option for Jonesboro this season. She scored 10 points and pulled down six rebounds per game in her final year with the Lady Cardinals.

Sarah Matthews, Forest Park

Matthews led the Lady Panthers for the second straight season at nearly 10 points per game. She also pulled down close to six rebounds per contest, which also led the team.

Honorable Mention: Aizia Travis, Drew; Jasmine Jacob, Forest Park; Alana Denson, Forest Park; Tenay Minus, Jonesboro; Amber Thornton, Lovejoy; Symone Williams, Lovejoy; Sierra Beechum, Morrow; N’Keria Larris, North Clayton; Kereen Thomas, North Clayton; Taylor Jackson, Riverdale


Player of the Year: M.J. Walker, Jonesboro


Coach of the Year: Derick Powell, Riverdale


First Team

William Black, Drew

Black averaged 19 points and six rebounds for the Titans this season. His ability to make tough baskets in the paint was often Drew’s best offense.

Dijon Brown, Morrow

Brown was one of the top three-point shooters in the county this season. He averaged 17 points per game for the Mustangs.

Jonathan Foster, Riverdale

The Raiders returned to the state playoffs this season and Foster was a big reason why. He averaged 17 points per game while shooting 52 percent from three-point range.

Tyree Keith, Mundy’s Mill

Keith led the Tigers in scoring this season. He averaged 18 points per game as a senior.

Avery Wilson, Forest Park

Wilson was electric for the Panthers this season. He averaged 27.7 points, seven rebounds, four assists and two steals per game while leading Forest Park back to the state playoffs.

Second Team

Ahsan Asadullah, North Clayton

Asadullah averaged a double-double of 13 points and 10 rebounds this season, despite being the focal point for opposing defenses.

Jahseel Herbert, Forest Park

Herbert averaged 12.3 points and 10 rebounds per game for the Panthers this season.

Michael Lee, North Clayton

Lee came on late in the season for the Eagles but he emerged as one of the best scorers in the county. He averaged 13 points per game.

Jamari Smith, Jonesboro

Smith missed the first half of the season after suffering a head injury. He averaged 13.1 points and eight rebounds when he returned to the lineup.

TreJohn Taylor, Mount Zion

Taylor was one of the top pure scorers in the county. He led the Bulldogs with 12.1 points per game.

Honorable Mentions: Jaylon Terrell, Jonesboro; Keondre Kennedy, North Clayton; James Johnson, Riverdale; Jamal Buster, North Clayton; Michael Brown, Drew