All-Region Basketball: Clayton, Henry teams well-represented in Region 4-AAAA By Luke Strickland


JONESBORO — The Region 4-AAAA All-Region basketball teams were announced over the weekend. All-Region selections are chosen by the head coaches of each school within the region.

Region 4-AAAA, Girls

Henry County High’s Brooke Moore was named Player of the Year in Region 4. The Auburn commit averaged 25 points per game while leading the Lady Warhawks to the top seed in the region.

Teammate Janaya Wadsworth was named to the Second Team. She scored eight points per game for the Lady Warhawks. Usoreia McWhorter was chosen as an Honorable Mention as well for Henry County.

North Clayton High’s Dalania Clardy and Moena Battle were named to the First Team. Clardy averaged 13 points and eight rebounds per game, while Battle scored nine points and grabbed nine rebounds per game.

Fellow Lady Eagles N’Keria Larris, Jasmine Holcombe, Adrianna Tillman, Denetra Sneed and Kereen Thompson were chosen as Honorable Mentions.

Luella High saw Imani McNeal earn First Team honors. She averaged 15 points and seven rebounds for the Lady Lions. Teammates Kamya Hollingshed and Zaria Bankston were named to the Second Team. Hollingshed scored 17 points per game, while Bankston added 15 points and six assists per contest.

Region 4-AAAA, Boys

Henry County High teammates Damion Rosser and Javon Greene were named to the First Team in Region 4 after stellar senior seasons. Greene scored 21 points per game this season, while Rosser averaged 20 points per game.

Fellow Warhawk Kovi Tate was named an Honorable Mention. Tate averaged 10 points per game this season.

Henry County head coach Vincent Rosser was named Region Coach of the Year.

North Clayton High center Ahsan Asadullah was named to the First Team after averaging 14 points and eight rebounds this season. Teammate Michael Lee was named to the Second Team despite playing only in the second half of the season.