Clayton County Senior Bowl set for Dec. 15 By Luke Strickland


The Clayton County Senior Bowl will be held Dec. 15 at 7 p.m. at Southern Crescent Stadium between the North and South squads.

Drew, Forest Park, Morrow, North Clayton and Riverdale players will make up the North team, which will be coached by Drew High’s Dorwyn Lyles. Jonesboro, Lovejoy, Mount Zion and Mundy’s Mill players will make up the South team which will be led by Mundy’s Mill High’s Dwayne Davis.

Notable players to compete for the North squad include Drew’s Nelson Armour, Forest Park’s Courtney Williams, Morrow’s Akeem Newton and Qahir Girard, North Clayton’s Yaya Diaby, Jaiquan Earls and James Monroe, and Riverdale’s Greg White, Joseph Cambridge, Deon Andrews and Brian Williams.

Notable players representing the South team include Jonesboro’s C.J. Marria and Destin McMillan, Lovejoy’s John Seter, Tremond Shorts and Jayden Thomas, Mount Zion’s Lenox Copeland, Roman Victor and Tyree Leonard and Mundy’s Mill’s Kaziah Hall and John Kelly.

The North won the 2015 Senior Bowl by a score of 27-19. Drew quarterback Joseph Newman and Mundy’s Mill running back Khalid Hylton were named MVP for their respective teams.

Entry is free to the public. Southern Crescent Stadium is located at 6231 Garden Walk Blvd. in Riverdale on the campus of Drew High School.