Riverdale High’s Joseph Cambridge named Region 3-5A Offensive Player of the Year By Luke Strickland lstrickland@news-daily.com


The Riverdale Raiders made the postseason for the first time since 2012 this season. A total of 10 Raiders were honored for their performances on the All-Region 3-5A squad.

Quarterback Joseph Cambridge was named Offensive Player of the Year after leading Riverdale to the postseason for just the third time since 2000. Cambridge’s 3,229 total yards accounted for 90 percent of the team’s offense. He also scored 33 touchdowns.

Wide receiver Greg White was a First Team Offense All-Region selection. He caught 59 passes for more than 1,000 yards and 13 touchdowns. Offensive lineman Brian Williams was also named to the First Team Offense.

Three Raiders were named to the First Team Defense. Dante Walker made 80 tackles and eight sacks. Bubba Thomas anchored the Riverdale defense at defensive tackle, while Deon Andrews recorded 82 tackles, 11 tackles for a loss, three interceptions and four fumble recoveries.

Morrow had three players named to the All-Region team, including Fred Wright, who was named to the First Team Defense.

All-Region 3-5A Football Team

Player of the Year: Tylan Morton, Griffin

Offensive Player of the Year: Joseph Cambridge, Riverdale

Defensive Player of the Year: Malcom Easterwood, Fayette County

Coach of the Year: Antonio Andrews, Griffin

First Team Defense

Dante Walker, Riverdale

Frederick Wright, Morrow

Jamarcus Williamson, Fayette County

Bubba Thomas, Riverdale

Cody Streight, Griffin

Tyler Crowder, Whitewater

Noah Alfred, Fayette County

Malik Taylor, Griffin

Deon Andrews, Riverdale

Trent Carrington, Fayette County

James Hawkins, Fayette County

Laim Voight, Whitewater

First Team Offense

Stone Kasten, Whitewater

Cole Gilley, Starr’s Mill

Santo Dunn, Griffin

Isaiah Montgomery, Whitewater

Greg White, Riverdale

Kerrson Aikens, Griffin

Roddy Willis, Griffin

Andrew Loftis, Starr’s Mill

Cedric Webb, Griffin

Brian Williams, Riverdale

Javon Jackson, Fayette County

Andre Prinsloo, Whitewater

Michael Lantz, Starr’s Mill

Second Team Defense

Sylas Foster, Griffin

Bradley May, Whitewater

Tyson Lattimore, Morrow

LeMarcus Washington, Riverdale

Eric Ogle, Whitewater

Akeem Newton, Morrow

Larry Corbin, Griffin

Jaluntray Hatcher, Griffin

Jakwon Lipscomb, Riverdale

Brandon Mercer, Morrow

Zach Anderson, McIntosh

Uli Silva, Riverdale

Second Team Offense

Zach Sanders, McIntosh

Bradley Ector, McIntosh

Jalil Dabney, Fayette County

Musa Ali, Whitewater

Kenan Thomas, Riverdale

Jamal Harris, Griffin

Chris Vermilyea, Whitewater

Qahir Girard, Morrow

Deundrez Williams, Griffin

Sal Padovano, Whitewater

Cole Burnett, McIntosh

Jake Donaldson, McIntosh